Pew Study: younger people better at discerning fact from opinion



The Pew Research center recently conducted an experiment, where they gave both old people and young people 10 statements. 5 were facts, 5 were opinions. 34% of respondents between the ages of 18 and 29 were able to correctly identify facts as facts, while only 17% of people over 65% were able to do so. The older the respondents got, the fewer who were able to identify a fact as a fact. Same thing for the opinions. 46% of respondents between the ages of 18 and 29 were able to identify the opinion statements as opinions, while only 21% of the respondents over 65 were able to do so. It was the same pattern. The older the respondents got, the fewer statements they were able to identify correctly. So that’s good news, if you’re worried that the internet is making kids so dumb that they’ll never be able to hold the world together in the future. The Resident discusses.

Follow The Resident at http://www.twitter.com/TheResident

Find RT America in your area: http://rt.com/where-to-watch/
Or watch us online: http://rt.com/on-air/rt-america-air/

Like us on Facebook http://www.facebook.com/RTAmerica
Follow us on Twitter http://twitter.com/RT_America

source

40 thoughts on “Pew Study: younger people better at discerning fact from opinion

  1. branden burks November 8, 2018 at 6:37 pm

    These people don’t need to be in government after they can’t identify a fact from opinion.

  2. Matt F November 8, 2018 at 6:37 pm

    the thing with this generation is there are a great amount of the most outstanding people ever existed in this generation, and an even greater amount of the most astonishingly stupid people ever existed in this generation as well

  3. N ames November 8, 2018 at 6:37 pm

    Kremlin propaganda from RT is discernable to all ages.

  4. Ryan M November 8, 2018 at 6:37 pm

    Nah. We're concerned about roundup making kids dumb

  5. Architect of the Apocalypse November 8, 2018 at 6:37 pm

    Yeah, most kids are turning to socialism, which is literally too dumb.

  6. Curious One75 November 8, 2018 at 6:37 pm

    Before you can separate opinion from facts you need to seperate your own bias.
    Words are powerful… and if words can control you, anybody can control you (Bruce Lee, allegedly)

  7. Bruce Dimo November 8, 2018 at 6:37 pm

    yeah, no.
    I, being older,
    know where kansas
    is on a map without names

  8. Joe Doaks November 8, 2018 at 6:37 pm

    Seriously, they've drugged the minds right out of old people's heads…I see it every day.

  9. Joshua Weickum November 8, 2018 at 6:37 pm

    Hell yes that's exactly what's going on

  10. M1CHAEL C0RL3ON3 November 8, 2018 at 6:37 pm

    The Next Generation will be comprised of Betas Cucks as well as Pooftah's and Whores which are all fruits of the Zionist Control of USA and the West no Question.

  11. 604zz Z November 8, 2018 at 6:37 pm

    People are waking up

  12. Ego Griseo November 8, 2018 at 6:37 pm

    While your facts are good, your snarky fuckin attitude made you nearly unwatchable.

  13. Doctor Detroit November 8, 2018 at 6:37 pm

    What a joke. IF they used basic logic and reason, they would not be living in basements or vote for their own destruction.

  14. Cosmic Justice November 8, 2018 at 6:37 pm

    This is why the public really needs to be aware of the following unrealized biblical contradiction's………A God that would have two people with identical DNA, resorting to incest and inbreeding to populate the world. Remember, Eve was begotten from Adams left rib. If two people with the same blood, populated the world, we would all be of the same race. Adam and Eve fell, because an all knowing God tempted them in the first place using his perfect angel we know today as Satan, to eat from the tree of knowledge. This is why man is born in sin in the first place. This is why an all knowing God would have to give up his only son in the first place. Its all because God could not make a perfect angel . This is why we even need this shit in the first place. I wonder about the Angel's he already had, that for some unexplained reason, he would have to make a perfect one??
    A god who attempted to create a perfect angel only to create the devil instead. This is why we need this in the first place. An all knowing god who needs to test people. A god, who long ago before he even existed, who one day decided to create his own beginning. Nothing that does not exist, can create its own beginning. Another god who needs a Pimp to sell that almighty ass. Another god we can only read about. We can only read about all gods. And they all need man to convince the world that they exist. They all need a pimp to sell that ass. We have been reading about gods for thousands of years now to no avail. Time to move forward and Evolve beyond where we are today! Another god who needs a publisher and a copy right. An all knowing and all seeing and all loving god who sits back and watches the whole world go to shit. An all knowing God who should have known that Moses would break both stone tablet's containing the laws of God, on his way down Mount Olive. A god who needs an army of child molesting DOG'S to confess our sin's too. A god who always needs more MONEY!". These messed up contradictions, conflicts with the divine attributes that define the existence of god.They don't want the people informed and capable of rational thinking and or independent thought for Obvious reasons!, What they really want, is a sleeping population dependent upon the Drug Company's, so that they are unable to rise up and resist the New World Order. 70% of America alone, is dependent upon the PHARMACEUTICAL COMPANY'S to sustain there Mental and Physical health! They even have our pet's on drugs now. When they get enough of the global population dependent on Pharmaceutical Drugs, then they may then Chip us."Real Leverage at it's best!" 🙂 The return of Jesus, the sun, is an astrological allegory. It is the return of the planet x system that has a sun and a dark star ( The black angel of death). In the bible one of Christs disciples asks about his return and Jesus replies, Do not be so eager for my return for it shall be a dark day on earth when I do return with Hell behind me. The bible reads that the earth will shake and the sky will grow dark with fire and brimstone falling to the earth. This sounds like an event triggered by a big earth quake that sets off a supper volcano, triggered by this incoming system.

  15. Armando7654 November 8, 2018 at 6:37 pm

    BULLSHIT — If you're a leftist, you don't believe in facts. You think everything is an "opinion". You question the entire Distinction between fact & opinion. I mean this is like the 1st & last thing Marxists teach you at schools nowadays. That's the ONLY thing schools teach. Everything is an opinion or ideology or "system" bc from expressed from a point of view. Science – that's just an opinion of the white elites. Reason – that's also opinion of smart people. Free Market – that's also just opinion / system says the brainwashed youth of today. You have to work to live – that's just "white man's opinion/system of oppression".

  16. ロシアロシアン November 8, 2018 at 6:37 pm

    🌺🌷

  17. David Damgaard November 8, 2018 at 6:37 pm

    Of course people over 65 cannot discern facts from opinions. When you get old The brain begins to malfunction like anything else in the body.

  18. K soJa November 8, 2018 at 6:37 pm

    Discerning fact from opinion isn’t the issue. It’s discerning fact from fiction.

    ‘Why bother verifying that? They said it so it must be true!’

  19. poofendorf November 8, 2018 at 6:37 pm

    The only difference between their examples of "facts" and "opinions" were that the later were more vaguely stated or more ambiguous. There are no qualitative differences between their examples.

  20. Juniper lane November 8, 2018 at 6:37 pm

    Polls are not always accurate.

  21. ThePunisher129 November 8, 2018 at 6:37 pm

    Oh my it is almost like critical thinking skills are important

  22. SelfTaughtArtist1 November 8, 2018 at 6:37 pm

    Speaking of…this show(segment) is just too corny. Revamp

  23. Darrell Freeman November 8, 2018 at 6:37 pm

    Present all the info on 9/11 and see which generation picks false flag and which ones say Bin Laden did it.

  24. Brian Touchet November 8, 2018 at 6:37 pm

    Then why is it 90% still live with there mommy and daddy and lazy as hell

  25. Fintan November 8, 2018 at 6:37 pm

    Do they have the 10 questions somewhere?

  26. phil greene November 8, 2018 at 6:37 pm

    I'm 67.look what my dumbass generation has done with the world. they've always been idiots.

  27. knowthingman November 8, 2018 at 6:37 pm

    So a big part of the problem really IS the Boomers!
    (yeah, I know that's just my OPINION…or is it?)
    Why am I suspicious of this study and it's methodology? Because it seems suspicious.

  28. sky Maracle November 8, 2018 at 6:37 pm

    What's with the cringe worthy intro???

  29. 2nguyen2 November 8, 2018 at 6:37 pm

    I learned a lot from her internet videos.

  30. John Johnson November 8, 2018 at 6:37 pm

    Internet is making smart people smarter and dumb people dumber, that's my theory.

  31. Edward Wong Hau Pepelu Tivrusky IV November 8, 2018 at 6:37 pm

    Than why do they vote democrat?

  32. Aszhara November 8, 2018 at 6:37 pm

    Peak boomerposting in the comments lmao

  33. Alejandro San Roman November 8, 2018 at 6:37 pm

    Opinion: Great report. Fact: You are lovely. And yes ! Is gona be a @ generation

  34. Veracity North November 8, 2018 at 6:37 pm

    She always has the crappiest reports.

  35. Dino Di Lucido November 8, 2018 at 6:37 pm

    Young people can better recognize a controlled demolition when they see one.

  36. yousief November 8, 2018 at 6:37 pm

    But don't old people go into homes go into homes,and have their bony bums wiped because they shit the bed? I don't know.What was the average age of a Hitler youth?I don't know that either. An RT or Fox viewer? I'd have to wipe the floor with them despite their age

  37. mark vietti November 8, 2018 at 6:37 pm

    thats why younger people are usually liberal.

  38. Josh Myers November 8, 2018 at 6:37 pm

    Almost everyone under 25 wanted Hillary & Socialism. This video is wrong.

  39. Swae Ocean November 8, 2018 at 6:37 pm

    This poll is very unscientific. Not newsworthy. Just garbage, like most of what comes out of PEW.

  40. Xeno Phon November 8, 2018 at 6:37 pm

    P-Hacking = All your polls and studies are invalid. Deal with P hacking before you audaciously follow these kinds of data.

Leave a Reply