Ixalan Spoilers: Best of the Rest Set Review – Part 2: Blue!



Ixalan spoilers playlist – https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLGsoeNcK9QA8OzL9nIYabf49Q5Or8jJOW

Support the channel with Patreon – https://www.patreon.com/themanasource

Check out TCGplayer – http://bit.ly/TMSandTCGplayer

Follow us on Twitter! – http://www.twitter.com/themanasource
Like us on Facebook! – http://www.facebook.com/TheManaSource

Live Stream: twitch.tv/wedge

Logo courtesy of Kelly R. – http://www.behance.net/KMMR
Intro courtesy of Bad Asteroid – https://twitter.com/BadAsteroid_

Remember to subscribe to stay up to date on the latest and most reliable Magic: The Gathering information you’ll ever need!

Intro: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eJ4MqsfZ8UU
Outro: http://www.newgrounds.com/audio/listen/465080

Thanks for watching.

source

43 thoughts on “Ixalan Spoilers: Best of the Rest Set Review – Part 2: Blue!

  1. TheManaSource September 21, 2017 at 1:47 pm

    What do YOU think of blue in Ixalan? Especially for limited. Seems interesting, but real swingy!

  2. Flash Fan September 21, 2017 at 1:47 pm

    I want to make a Pirate deck with Bolas and Brass in it.

  3. Flash Fan September 21, 2017 at 1:47 pm

    I don't know why they did not put Hunt the Weak in this set, maybe Rivals?

  4. That Guy September 21, 2017 at 1:47 pm

    One With the Wind=Spectral Flight

  5. CodenameJD September 21, 2017 at 1:47 pm

    Some of these cards – Tempest Caller, Watertrap Weaver, etc – are also sweet for Inalla.

  6. UndertaleSkeleBros September 21, 2017 at 1:47 pm

    it would be bette rif the board tap creature either tapped all creatures opponents control, or had flash so you can use it during there turn and thus stop them from potentiolly killing you

  7. UndertaleSkeleBros September 21, 2017 at 1:47 pm

    actually for that bounce spell your only paying 2

  8. Aaron Hooker September 21, 2017 at 1:47 pm

    Blue is OK, but, much better than it has been.

  9. egyptcraze September 21, 2017 at 1:47 pm

    "Wing strider – instantly playable"…I see you, Wedge, and I see what you did there 😛

  10. MADNESS September 21, 2017 at 1:47 pm

    TBH, Merfolk tribal is probably going to be what makes me enjoy simic for once.

  11. 54m0h7 September 21, 2017 at 1:47 pm

    Merfolk seems weak compared to the other tribes, Pirates/Dinosaurs. But I suppose since Merfolk aren't a new tribe they wanted to really boost the new ones.

  12. Jessaaayyy September 21, 2017 at 1:47 pm

    I never thought cards like run aground were really that great until you made me realize it is basically a time walk.

  13. dcnole September 21, 2017 at 1:47 pm

    Tempest Caller seems like a legit candidate for top 5 uncommons in the set.

  14. rockdruid September 21, 2017 at 1:47 pm

    Air elemental yassss

  15. Kyle Savage September 21, 2017 at 1:47 pm

    Hey Wedge will u continue the series with Ravnica Guilds philosophy,strengths and weaknesses after the best of the rest series? It's been quite a while since last video of this series and tbh it's the only series better than…well…u know. So can i have my Simic philosophy video pretty pretty please?

  16. NotaNetDeck September 21, 2017 at 1:47 pm

    Is there no removal in blue this set?

  17. Andre Roy September 21, 2017 at 1:47 pm

    Wizards trying to print OK cards for inalla

  18. maiwson September 21, 2017 at 1:47 pm

    For limited it's support, for standard it's tribal … Pirates and merfolk look pretty descent

  19. Tiger Warrior September 21, 2017 at 1:47 pm

    Two things immediately come to mind when I see Trilobyte. 1: Troglodyte. That one creature we don't wanna face in DnD. They smell, force you to swing at it with disadvantage in terms of melee striking, and poke at you with unsanitary sticks. 2: Stunfisk. Look at that creature's artwork, then look at Stunfisk. The only real difference is the coloration, and that doesn't save the fart pancake from any sort of grief. In terms of looks and creature typing, I have a sore spot where my stomach once was.

    On top of that, I actually learned there are campaigns in DnD that cross over to Innistrad and Amonkhet of MTG. Wizards is cross referencing like no tomorrow, and I doubt they will stop. And this is just information I have from the official backgrounds for character creation. It's insanely hype, but at the same time, a bit of a let down. If I ever get the campaign books for either Innistrad or Amonkhet, I doubt it would be anywhere near fun when taking down the Eldrazi themselves, or worse, the God Pharoah and his 8 gods! While the battles would be hectic and dire, the downtime before any sort of thing like that happens would be drab at best.

  20. steelWindAlchemist September 21, 2017 at 1:47 pm

    Wedge plays Run Aground targeting a creature. Opponent in response plays Dive Down.
    Thoughts?

  21. Reality Glitch September 21, 2017 at 1:47 pm

    Mononblue aggro.

  22. Kevin Reisch September 21, 2017 at 1:47 pm

    I kind of feel like the pirates need something to ramp to.

  23. Jackson Mccreery September 21, 2017 at 1:47 pm

    <3 Frost Lynx

  24. Tyler Arnold September 21, 2017 at 1:47 pm

    At 9:00, I legit laughed. They just really love this same card!! LOL

  25. gamerokami September 21, 2017 at 1:47 pm

    Mono- U unblockable, let that simmer……..

  26. Andew, Seventh Sun of Edwad September 21, 2017 at 1:47 pm

    The best part of Ixalan is Wedge doing reviews.

    Love it

  27. legoboy468 September 21, 2017 at 1:47 pm

    It's interesting to see the difference of opinions between wedge and nizzahon, since his version of this video came out today too, really helps see the best cards for prerelease

  28. thedoctor559 September 21, 2017 at 1:47 pm

    All the cards that enter with treasure tokens are effectively one mana less. Pirate's prize is basically 3 mana because you get one back, almost like tezeret's gambit is only 3 mana

  29. hunter keiser September 21, 2017 at 1:47 pm

    I'm in love with merfolk in general as a tribe. I had a feeling they were gonna be good come ixalan….I was so right 😂

  30. Joshua Young September 21, 2017 at 1:47 pm

    Tempest Caller is sleep on a stick… seems legit.

  31. Svenner September 21, 2017 at 1:47 pm

    Really like the art on Shore Keeper.

  32. Xippih September 21, 2017 at 1:47 pm

    Okay, to those who are good with rules – I need your help.

    Say I cast Hostage Taker, it enters the battlefield and triggers it's effect. Could I do the following with Siren's Ruse:

    Step 1. With the trigger on the stack, flicker Hostage Taker with Siren's Ruse – draw a card.
    Step 2. With the first trigger from the Hostage Taker still not having resolved, the Hostage Taker triggers again upon entering hte battlefield. Target another creature.
    Step 3. Both Hostage Taker triggers resolve, I exile two artifacts/creatures that I can cast later.

    I am not sure if it works, but it would be VERY cool if it did and quite bonkers. 😛

  33. eetu heikkinen September 21, 2017 at 1:47 pm

    are you doing videos of the rares as well?

  34. Dragon of Data September 21, 2017 at 1:47 pm

    What about the tramatise fish

  35. Emery September 21, 2017 at 1:47 pm

    Sailor of Means? More like Sailor of Memes.

    Sorry. That joke was too average.

  36. Rukalin September 21, 2017 at 1:47 pm

    7:50 the ultimate proof that italic*italic is regular.

  37. Ken Blu September 21, 2017 at 1:47 pm

    Mill in Standard with Navigator's Ruin and Fraying Sanity?

  38. ImParaTripin September 21, 2017 at 1:47 pm

    I have a idea…

    Us fans should make our own version of worst cards ever until weage takes all the videos down, then hope he will feel that he will have to remake it because copyright (dose this idea suck? Let me know I will not care it should happen)

  39. Louise Drake September 21, 2017 at 1:47 pm

    You are a pirate!

  40. Neal Barrett September 21, 2017 at 1:47 pm

    Notification squad

  41. Biohazard Rayne September 21, 2017 at 1:47 pm

    Big Butt – DONE 😉

  42. Anon Ymous September 21, 2017 at 1:47 pm

    Baral makes Depths of Desire a 2 drop bounce spell…so…I mean…its not the *worst card ever*…

  43. youngthinker1 September 21, 2017 at 1:47 pm

    Do you all think Tempest Caller could see play in Modern Merfolks? Sideboard?

Leave a Reply